Glenelg juniors selected in State team for Junior Interstate series

Story courtesy of Golf SA

Golf SA has selected its junior state sides for April’s National Junior Interstate Series in New South Wales, with six of the twelve players due to make their representative debuts.

In the boy’s side, only Jackson Kalz from Glenelg returns. Kalz who has been named Captain, won five matches in last year’s series and his fine form continues, recently winning the Victorian Junior Masters in January.

Five players making their debuts are Jack Buchanan, Harrison Burner and Frank Vucic all from Glenelg Golf Club with Andrew Fiebig from South Lakes and Kyle Hayter from Kooyonga.

Kalz who was the youngest team member last year, is now the oldest with the five debutants all just 15 years old come the start of the series.

Adrian Wickstein will coach the boys side for the third consecutive year. Wickstein who is the Teaching Professional at the Glenelg Golf Club was Men’s State Captain in 2008.

In the Girls team, returning players are Ella Adams and Jin-Young Yun from The Grange Golf Club, Charley Jacobs and Emma Sutton from Glenelg and Caitlin Peirce from The Vines.

14 year-old Shakira-Ann Kuys from Glenelg/Port Augusta will make her debut.

Adams who will attend college in the US later this year will lead the team, while North Adelaide Golf Course PGA Professional Simon MacWhirter will coach the side for the second time.

The Australian Boys’ Interstate Matches will be played from 10 – 13 April 2017 at the Riverside Oaks Golf Club in NSW with the Australian Boys Amateur being held prior from 5 – 7 April at Wollongong Golf Club.

The Australian Girls’ Interstate Matches will be played from 9 – 11 April 2017 at the Port Kembla Golf Club in NSW with the Australian Girls Amateur held at the same course prior from 5 – 7 April.

The full team listings are as follows:

2017 Boys State Team

Jackson Kalz (Captain) (Glenelg GC)
Jack Buchanan (Glenelg GC)
Harrison Burner (Glenelg GC)
Andrew Fiebig (South Lakes GC)
Kyle Hayter (Kooyonga GC)
Frank Vucic (Glenelg GC)

Reserve (Non-travelling)
William Arnold (Royal Adelaide)

(Coach) Adrian Wickstein
(Manager) Christian Puccini

2017 Girls State Team

Ella Adams (Captain) (The Grange GC)
Charley Jacobs (Ardrossan GC / Glenelg GC)
Shakira-Ann Kuys (Port Augusta GC / Glenelg GC)
Caitlin Pierce (The Vines GC)
Emma Sutton (Glenelg GC)
Jin-Young Yun (The Grange GC)

Reserve (Non-travelling)
Amelia Whinney (The Grange GC)

(Coach) Simon MacWhirter
(Manager) TBC